Hearing loss demonstrations

24 03 2007

I went to a pub for an evening out and I was so irritated with the sound levels that I took my hearing aids out for the entire evening. It was a class move! Of course I was with people that use sign language so the loud noise and very loud music weren’t really an issue. We probably found communication a lot easier than all the hearing people in the pub. So being deaf can have some advantages, it seems. I could just pick up a faint bass rhythm so it was actually a relaxing evening for me, I usually hate noisy pubs.

I’m sure hearing people have no idea or appreciation of what it’s like to not hear properly. Well, have a look at the hearing loss demonstrations – it would be nice to know what you think. My hearing loss is profound – it’s a bottom feeder, crawling along the bottom of the chart shown, so you won’t be able to reproduce what I can hear. But this will give you some understanding of hearing loss, that sounds are not just quieter, they are also muffled and distorted.

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 03 2007
Deaf Niches

I am profoundly deaf, like you, and I receive great benefits from wearing hearing aids (I can hear birds chirping, seagulls yakking loudly, wind blowing through the leaves, leaves crunching under my feet, you name it.) But when I am in the environment in which the noise is non-stoppable… like my son’s school caferitia at his hearing school, I have to take my aids off… I cannot deal with the kind of noice. Same goes for flying… I can’t stand the engine noise. I marvel at hearing people… they are able to screen the background noises out.

24 03 2007
funnyoldlife

I think hearing people can screen out unwanted noise because they have a natural ability to be selective about what noise they want to focus on, but a hearing loss takes away this capability. Also, sounds are clearer and not as loud as we perceive them through a hearing aid – which is really just a microphone isn’t it. A hearing aid can’t accurately reproduce quality or ‘fullness’ of sound, so speech sounds flatter than it should. To me, hearing a crowd of people is just like hearing the ‘snow’ on the television, when it isn’t tuned in.

28 03 2007
Kyle

I have no problems with dealing with noises – I rarely ever switch off – but I can’t selectively hear one thing over another, so noisy pubs etc are annoying when trying to listen to people talking.

It doesn’t help by the fact people shout to compensate for the noise levels, distorting their voices and makes lipreading harder too!

Leave a Reply

