Access to equal communication

16 09 2007

Are you dreading the traditional family christmas gathering?

A lot of people with imperfect hearing find such events very difficult because they are so isolating.

Just imagine…..

    you are all sitting together at christmas dinner and you can’t join in the conversation because you can’t hear it

    you have gone to midnight mass with the family but you have to sit/stand/genuflect in line with everyone else and you can’t hear a single word that’s being said

    you are opening presents on christmas morning and can’t hear all the jokes and comments that everyone else can

    you watch TV all of christmas day and half of it isn’t subtitled so you can’t hear it (gawd how boring!)

    people are stressed anyway because they are trying to cater for umpteen relatives on Christmas Day and they get annoyed when you mishear them or don’t hear them at all

I seem to spend all of christmas running round after (hearing) people trying to keep them happy. What about ME? I’d like a break as well. I’d like NOT to lip read people all day, NOT to say “Pardon?” all day, to BE included in conversations, to BE part of a group. Unfortunately, more often than not, it’s a group that doesn’t understand what it’s like to be deaf, that doesn’t even want to know.

Oh. I’m a “hearing person”. With hearing aids.

Is it any wonder I bl**dy hate christmas.

A friend is in her thirties and she has a progressive hearing loss. She has to ask her husband to repeat himself because she did not hear his speech clearly enough. She finds this extremely annoying and frustrating, especially when she has to do this because there’s background noise. She now uses subtitles on television quite a lot, so that she can understand speech without turning the volume up to the highest setting and blasting everyone else out of the house.

You never know when / if hearing loss will hit you or a member of your family. In the USA, the Equal Communication Access Campaign aims to raise awareness of the deaf community’s lack of full and equal communication access in their lives. You can subscribe to this campaign and help raise awareness of access to equal communication.

Actions

Information

6 responses

17 09 2007
ALAN JEFFERS

YOU SAID I CANNOT HEAR BUT ONE THING I CAN HEAR LOUDEST ANGELS SONGS SAID JINGLE BELLS JINGLE BELLS THERE IS SLILENT JINGLE BELLS WOW MY DEAF EARS RINGINGS SOUND LIKE BELLS SAID MERRY CHRISTMAS COMMING SOON 2007 THANKS WINK

17 09 2007
Jaz

For all of you out there who are dreading to go to family gatherings, you now have nothing to worry about. There is a communication device called the UbiDuo which will allow you to interact with your family members without any barriers. I am a UbiDuo user myself and I love it. Check their website out at http://www.scommonline.com

17 09 2007
Bill

I think that might have helped to give me some ideas for my submission ECA Contest as to why I support

1. I tend to be outside the conversations in social gatherings anyway – and I tend to look for those who are similarly “outside”.

2. Everyone experiences some form of hearing loss

3. Even when not experiencing hearing loss, many of the things that make life better/safer for the deaf, will also help those who are not. Using the visual to support the sound will help those who aren’t paying attention, have headphones on, or are otherwise distracted.

17 09 2007
Peachlady

No problem with me! I bring my deaf husband to Thanksgiving Dinners so I won’t be left out.

17 09 2007
Lantana

Bill’s #1. I agree, I do the same. Misery loves company, hee, hee.

But really, it works out very well if you look around for someone else who appears to be missing out on the conversation OR does not care for the subject being discussed.

My adult children are usually present at most of our family gatherings, and they insist that I not be left out. One of them always makes sure that I am being taken care of and am comfortable with the situation.

Lantana

18 09 2007
Fintan

Trouble is with hearing people its too much effort!

I stopped going, and besides if they really want you there then they will make an effort.
My children envy me.. I get to stay at home and play with their toys 🙂

Leave a Reply

