Disability = Sin ?

20 09 2007

This post brought back an old memory.

I was staying with a family who had been friends of my parents for some years. They were intelligent, educated people. They also happened to be Christians. Which was fine by me. One day we had a conversation, where they asked why I am deaf. I explained.

Their reply was …. “Oh no, the REAL reason you’re deaf is because you sinned in a past life. You did something very VERY bad. This is your punishment.”

Huh? What?! Run that one past me again?

I was stunned. I have NO idea where they got this strange idea from. I certainly haven’t lived a past life. I cut that conversation short and walked away. Quickly.

*shudder*

Be any religion you want to be. Just leave me and my disability out of it.

Actions

Information

18 responses

20 09 2007
Fintan

They would be finding out if there is life after death if they said that to me!

20 09 2007
Deaf Pixie

It is really annoyed if someone say or insulted you became a sin because of deafness. That’s bull***t!

I am tired of hearing since christian family said you are sinner because of past. How it caused? I think they are attention of pity you. I dont really agree with your friend’s hearsay.

20 09 2007
Mark Maki

Iam sorry to learned that strange idea about sin.
I dont believe that such thing. I believe God have a reason to plan for everyone. I believe a Deaf person is a reason be on earth to learn as human being. I think people can learn from Deaf people as human being as well. that is very simple.

20 09 2007
ALAN JEFFERS

I WON”T BELIEVE DEAF MADE SIN. GOD MAKE EVERYONE DEAF WHY BECAUSE HEARING PARENT WAS THRU “HEAVY AAA PROBLEMS OR DRUGS PROBLEMS” THRU HEAVY SIN THAT WHY GOD MADE DEAF OR HEARING INSULT FUN OF DEAF PEOPLE COULD BE PUNISH MAKE DEAF BY SIN GOD MADE ANYTHING DISABILITY GOD DECIDE PUT ON YOU OR ANOTHER OR ME ? I TELL YOU I AM NO WORRY BECAUSE SAME DISABITY BEING DEAF OR BLIND OR BORN THAT WAY LEG OR ARM OR MENTAL RETARD AS HANDCAPPED SHOW OUR LOVE NO MATTER WHO YOU ARE AS SAME HUMAN I LOVE HANDCAPPED PEOPLE DUE SAME IF HEARING PEOPLE REJECT HANDCAPPED IT COULD BE SIN PUNISH BY GOD TEST YOU DEAF=SIN SOMETIMES PERSON CAN CHANGE ACCEPT CHRISTIANS CAN REMOVE SIN SOMETIMES IT GOD TEST ON YOU BY PHONEY CHRISTIAN I SEE WORSE PERSON WAY BY ACTION. DEAF FAMILY HISTORY IS DIFFERENT THAN SIN BECAUSE OF DEAF FAMILY TREE HISTORY ASK DEAF FAMILY MIGHT KNOW MORE THAN I DO CAUSE I AM DIFFERENT THRU ONE DEAF IN FAMILY

21 09 2007
DT

Real Christians don’t hold views like that.

Lol, Fintan, now that was funny!

21 09 2007
Wolfers

This doesn’t make sense, really. “Past lives”? Christians don’t believe in reincarnation if I remember right. So, I would say that those ‘christians’ are screwed up.

21 09 2007
Tony B

I was in Damascus (Syria) and got chatted up by this stunning Arab lady, a Jessica Rabbit figure in a bikini, by the swimming pool. As the promising but broken gestural-conversation went on, she asked why am I deaf? This spontaneous question caught me off guard and then she said “I know why. It is because of Allah!”. Put me right off…..[splash]

21 09 2007
C

Sad isn’t it? people can be so misguided and ignorant.

One co-worker of mine thought deaf people became deaf because of incest in family. lol I asked her where she got that information from and she said it was because her husband’s family is deaf and there was incest involved. I told her that isn’t why deaf people are deaf (genetically). She learned something that day and was apologetic for being so ignorant.

As if being disabled is supposed to be punishment?

I think God made us as we are for a reason – it’s a gift and also it is to test others.

21 09 2007
Dianrez

Some foreign cultures believe that disability is a punishment for sins in a former life or sins that parents committed before their child is born. This idea disappears in first generation Americans as they grow up in our way of life.

A parent in Colombia told me if I gave an offering and a prayer to a shrine there, my parents’ sins would be washed away and I would hear again. She believed it so strongly I didn’t have the heart to say no and accepted, but she probably thought my sins were too terrible for it to work. 😉

21 09 2007
Gerry L

Please let me know who they are please.
I will send the “boys” round to sort them out!

21 09 2007
Anne

It is obvious from their comment that not only are they ignorant about deafness, they are truly ignorant about the bible as well. If they claim to be christian, then why is it they are stateing that you lived a former life? Most christian beliefs do not include reincarnation or past lifes. I think these so called friends of yours are no friends. I am sorry you had to experience that rude ignorant crap.

21 09 2007
MM

Religion is a sin but don’t quote me lol…. Jewish religions ban deaf from being Rabbis which we are eternally grateful for, because none of us want razor blades chopping bits of our wedding tackle off do we :)I noticed the BDA logo blogging against disablism, so where’s the ‘ear’ logo lolol…

21 09 2007
MM

BDA ? BAD ? a freudian slip there lol…

21 09 2007
D.

See John 9:1-3 on what Jesus says on this subject of disability and sin.

Those who profess to be Christians should be familiar with this passage.

21 09 2007
Bill

For those who do not look that up:
His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”

3 “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him.

So rejoice – You are a display of God’s Glory!

(some people…why do they have to claim the name [Christian], if they don’t wear the sign [love])

22 09 2007
MM

I thought Jesus went around spitting on disabled people to cure them ?

26 09 2007
ian Clifford

It is sad and depressing that there is still so much bigotted ignorance in the world in what is supposed to be the 21st century.

30 09 2007
hetty

hello am amazed that so called christians have such a confusing and incorrect view point.

Some people say this as its the only way they can handle a “handicap” etc. This approach usually results in their pity and lack of real understanding. One would prefer empathy and caring enviroment for friendship to be maintained.

The the scriptures in the bible (christian faith) teaches we have a relationship with God through Jesus his Son who came into the world to seek and to save. Which is available to everyone young, old, poor, rich, disabled or able bodied. Jesus doesnt pick the “best” people, anyone can ask Him into their lives and repent.

We as christians can then trust and beleive in Him. Everyone have a choice, on how they live there lives and what faiths they follow or not.

The bible doesnt teach their viewpoint, of past lives or that we are punished by past sins etc, as they stated. They have the facts very wrong. Dont take their ideas to heart.

Leave a Reply

