Cooking lessons

27 12 2007

Photobucket

I didn’t just eat christmas dinner this year, I actually cooked it as well, with Lisa. And I realised a funny thing.

There were a number of pots and pans of vegetables on the stove which needed boiling. Now normally this is how I boil something. I put hot water into the pan, put the heat setting on maximum, and watch for it to boil, i.e. get a glass of wine, chat a bit, and lift the lid every few minutes to see if the water is boiling. But this time, I could hear something. The hob is one of those ceramic hobs with a sheet of glass, I thought there might be some water trapped under the pot and was making this bubbling noise. Then it hit me. I could hear the water boiling! Wow. I lifted the lid and the water’s surface was still. How strange. I could hear it boiling but couldn’t see it boil. Obviously, it does start boiling at the bottom of the pot, but even so. It took another five minutes for the surface to boil.

So now I’m wondering, when cooking instructions say to simmer for six minutes from the point of boiling, is this point when the water’s surface is popping bubbles or when you can hear the water boil at the bottom of the pot?

I don’t know why this is the first time I’ve heard water boil. Perhaps it’s because Lisa’s house is in the quiet countryside, and we didn’t have a bunch of noisy people around. I knew the pork was ready from the smell of burning *grin*

I still didn’t hear the hot oil spitting in the oven for the roast potatoes, Lisa had to alert me to that, but maybe that one will surprise me one day.

Actions

Information