UK dialects

8 02 2008

Do you have trouble with dialects in the UK – apart from trying to piece together what you’re hearing with what you’re lipreading and getting into a funk when they don’t match, or getting an unknown word and therefore being unable to lipread it at all.

UK : I’m chuffed
Liverpool : I’m made up
Black Country : I’m bostin

(Why can’t we just say ‘I’m happy’? – it’s much easier to lipread!)

Complete the BBC’s Word Map survey and tell them about the words you use with their interactive word map. Some of the entries will be used to map dialect variation across the UK. (Duration: from 5 mins onwards)

You can see what the top words are, some are quite funny and lots are new to me. You can click on the words in each survey and see where in the UK they are the most commonly used.

For ‘to play truant’ the top ten words are –

skive (my usual word)
bunk off
wag
skip
mitch
dog
hookey
twag
sag
nick off

The top ten words for ‘To rain lightly’ are –

spitting
drizzling
shower
sprinkle
spotting
mizzling
smirr
picking
damping
mist (my choice)

‘A child’s soft shoes worn for P.E.’ – top ten were

pumps
daps
plimsols
gutties (my choice)
sandshoes
gym shoes
plimmies
sneakers
sannies
runners

No wonder so many immigrants don’t bother to learn English.

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 02 2008
macian

well this is iteresting, will def have a look at it.

for the record, truant was for us was kipping school, I was good at that, so much when the audiologist came for my hearing test the headmaster would send someone to the pool room to get me, no joke, didn’t get good school results but I’m one hell of a pool player lol skiving is always used for shying from work usually hard work, never school work.

rain lightly here is spitting,

soft shoes for gym were simply gym shoes.

12 02 2008
tutleymutley

Fascinating: my favourite local word is ‘dimpsy’ for twilight…

Leave a Reply

