Arrghhh

8 04 2008

I guess there’s gotta be a first time for everything.

I was in the wee room and heard this noise, just before I pressed the button on the wall. It sounded like I’d dropped something. I looked and saw this funny shaped thing in the water. It looked like a brown crescent moon, with a bit of red on the end…. it looked kind of familiar… and then I realised….

I had just accidentally dropped my expensive digital hearing aid …. all £2500 of it … into the toilet.

Arrghhhhhhhh.

I’m hoping it’ll be ok after it’s little swim.

There’s nothing I can do except wait. And worry.

Actions

Information

18 responses

9 04 2008
Ann_C

O crap! Oops, that happened to me too. It was no-go unfortunately. Hope yours revives.

9 04 2008
Rob G

heh… Just like me years ago. Turns out the earhook was stripped of its threads, just barely holding on that day, deciding to fall into the toilet right when I was actually using it. I mentioned it in my growing up deaf serial.

9 04 2008
macian

LOL FOL, what are you like, no lcuk eh, let us know how it goes, and hopefully it will, why don’t you get NHS aids? it’s a lot of money for private ones.

I havent dropped one in the sink but i have left it in my pocket and put it in the washing machine, and no it didn’t work.
I remember them asking em at audiology what happened, I said with a straight face i was cleaning it, so what happened they asked, I said guess I used the wrong type of washing powder, no he didn’t laugh lol
but hey I test their patience, another time i took my aid in a bag in little pieces, my dog chewed it up, I’m surprised theys till give me them.

9 04 2008
funnyoldlife

I’m soooo lucky. It still works. Phew! I had to turn the volume up slightly this morning when listening to my iPod, which means the aid is on at the maximum volume of 4 instead of the normal 3, so it will be going in for a health check – yet another visit to my LOVELY hearing aid department.

Or perhaps I should be blaming the new song I downloaded last night, ‘Don’t cry for me Argentina’

9 04 2008
Fintan

You have to pay for digital hearing aids?
Whats wrong with NHS ones?

9 04 2008
macian

well thats enough to make anyone try to drown their hearing aid FOL lol

10 04 2008
tutleymutley

Glad yours still works, FOL.
I dropped mine in a cup of coffee once (don’t ask!) – worked, but was never quite the same again – and when it was finally replaced there was a comment on how rusty the innards were! I’d get your health check sooner rather than later…

I’ve also run over my HA with the car. PUt my head under water in the bath – and forgot it was still in. And probably an entire other load of incidents if I really put my mind to remembering (hangs head in shame).

10 04 2008
funnyoldlife

Fintan & Macian – I have regulation NHS aids, I just stated the value of it. I feel sorry for a friend who paid that for hers, then mine (exactly the same model) became available on the NHS a few months later, free of charge.

Tutleymutley – thanks for the tip, I will definitely go sooner. I’m going to ask for an upgrade as I discovered last night that Phonak have new aids just out called Naida http://www.naida.phonak.com/en/ which a friend has managed to get on the NHS but only after a fight with Audiology (the same hospital as mine!) and he even had to get his MP involved. He says the Naida is marvellous.

10 04 2008
macian

ah, ok , thats not what the NHS pay FOL, and the aids are not identical, according to the audiologist a my hosp, on average they pay less than £100 quid per aid, no joke.
what she told me was the companies run a new aid for a few years, then mass produce a lesser varsion for the NHS, not that I can prove that, but that’s what she told me.
whan I was younger the nhs simply gave me ana order numebr, and i took it toa private company who supllied me with great aids, sadly that no longer happens.

10 04 2008
funnyoldlife

£100? I’m amazed.

10 04 2008
macian

yep the old ones I had before these cost the NHS £76 quid

10 04 2008
funnyoldlife

No wonder we get such crappy hearing aids. If they were giving out crappy glasses on the NHS, everyone would be complaining, wouldn’t they! I think deaf people don’t complain because they just don’t know what else is out there. I’ve just checked out the Oticon website and they don’t even offer my particular hearing aid any more. It’s a shame the NHS keep bleating they are the best when they clearly aren’t keeping up with the private sector – it doesn’t help to instil confidence does it?

11 04 2008
Smarty

I dunno if I would say my NHS hearing aids were crappy – difficult when you have nothing to compare them to!

But yeah, knew the NHS don’t pay anywhere as near as much for them as private customers do as they buy in bulk and are able to negotiate a decent price. Plus with private aids you are also paying for the service u get – retuning, cost of premises, etc….

How often can I expect to get my aids upgraded? I can imagine if I wanted a new model I would have to wait a year or two at least….

11 04 2008
funnyoldlife

I have friends who have private hearing aids, they are more deaf than me and can cope much better socially and at work with speech comprehension. I am also not hearing sounds that I could hear with my analogue aids, so I know I am missing out on some sounds, therefore there IS room for improvement. Plus, the NHS naturally will lag behind the private sector in requisitioning the latest aids. So that’s why I wonder whether you get what you pay for….

12 04 2008
IanG

Lucky for me I have never knowingly got my aid wet or filled with sand etc. However, I did go down the private route and paid just under 2k for **one** aid. It was a Seimens btw. It worked great for a while then after about a year or so it went wrong. In the meantime I had lost my job and money was an isuue so the 200UKP repair fee was a repair too far.

Going to the NHS I realised that they did not offer the same devices but after repeated pushing and questioning I have now got Spirit II aids which are the best I have had so far.

But after that experience with private suppliers, never again far too expensive!

12 04 2008
macian

I can understand that iang, If they can sell to the NHS for a ridicously low price, then surely 2 grand for a bloody private aid is extortion, my fathers friend took the private option purely due to his age, and the fact he couldn’t wait 8 months to be fitted with a nhs aid, wonder if this is a chance thing or hoping we will go away

13 04 2008
Emily

Oh no! I think I will take my HA out every time I go to the loo now, lol! You poor thing, glad its working though.
I felt the same about my analogue HA – that I could hear better with them and I was NOT convinced by the digital. However I have got used to them now. Before the ones I have now, some business guy at my audiology department had come to test out some aids. I tried them for a week and told him ‘no way’ – they were digital ones that controlled their own volume level (supposedly), it was AWFUL! The guy was rather suprised that I said I disliked his invention, but I think the feedback was important – there should be more ‘market research’ for all those fancy models out there I think. That way we might see more of them offered at the NHS?!

13 04 2008
funnyoldlife

I wasn’t actually wearing my aid when I paid a visit to the little room, I had taken it out and didn’t realise it had fallen off the side table onto my Tshirt and I somehow carried it in with me. I’ve not been wearing them as much because I got these new earmoulds recently which are quite painful – that’s my next post!

It does take a good few months for the brain to adjust to digital aids and lots of adjustments to get them just right for you. I was told by audiology that digital aids give more clarity but less volume, whereas analogue aids give more volume but less clarity. I’ve been missing out on sounds (my dog whining, quiet music) but have picked up others I have never heard before (radiator filling up, chicken cooking in the pan) so I guess they are giving me more in the high frequency ranges where I don’t really have any hearing.

Emily, your salesman sounds like he’s to be avoided at all costs!!

Leave a Reply

