Film : In Bruges

5 05 2008

(Sorry – no subtitles on trailer)

This subtitled film promised to have a red hot dialogue and the two main characters were great Irish actors so I was looking forward to it, I knew it would probably be worth a few laughs. In Bruges is written and directed by Martin McDonagh, who has won numerous awards for his previous comedy, Six Shooter. The story unfolds slowly, and being in Bruges (pronounced ‘Broozh’) becomes almost an insider joke as the story develops. The script certainly raised lots of titters in the audience and it even made me laugh. Two hit men are holed up in Bruges (on holiday) after carrying out a hit in London. Their views on life and death are changed by their interactions with the locals, tourists, and a film crew. One hitman is hired to kill the other. However, this doesn’t quite turn out as expected. Colin Farrell plays Ray, and Brendan Gleeson plays Ken. The script, in my opinion, is very very Irish….

Ken: You coming up?
Ray: What’s up there?
Ken: Well, the view.
Ray: The view of what? The view of down here? I can see that down here.
Ken: You are the worst tourist, Ray.
Ray: Look, Ken. I grew up in Dublin, and I love Dublin. If I had grown up on a farm, and was retarded, Bruges might impress me. But I didn’t, so it doesn’t.

I would recommend seeing this movie, but only the once. And only if you’re prepared for all the bad language that peppers the dialogue. Don’t take your children to see it! It’s an enjoyable ride nevertheless and we left in a good mood 🙂

FOL’s verdict : PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 05 2008
jessielme

Thanks for the entertaining movie review. My husband and I have been thinking about seeing this movie but haven’t gone yet. Perhaps we will this weekend now.

27 05 2008

Leave a Reply

