Hoping not to lose the music…

1 01 2010

I am sitting here listening to one of my favourite songs, Bad by U2. I can listen to it all day long. It’s 8 minutes long and I reckon it’s not long enough, even though it’s about heroin addiction. I know the lyrics off by heart – I always have to learn the lyrics of a song before I can ‘hear’ a song properly, as I can’t hear the words well enough to make them out. I have a few versions of this song, my favourite one is on the Wide Awake in America album, played live. There is more raw emotion, it feels more ‘real’ than the studio version. God, I love that voice! When I get my cochlear implant, I’m really worried I’m going to lose the ability to hear that emotion and the beauty of those percussion instruments in the background, the high tinkling notes, the bass ….. Go on, have a listen! (U.S. only) or on iTunes (UK).

Hopefully, I will be able to hear music well enough with a CI to enjoy it, I just don’t know what the quality will be like.  At least I will still have my other ear so I’ll have something. I’ll be playing it at full blast if I have to! I love, love, love my music…. (don’t you think that’s rather ironic for a deaf person?)

I’m pretty sure, when I am lying in the operating theatre’s recovery room, the first thing I’ll do when I wake up is plug in my iPod. LOL.

Actions

Information

12 responses

2 01 2010
Twitted by deafread

[…] This post was Twitted by deafread […]

2 01 2010
l1zblog

I love my music too. Anything with a good beat like JLS etc… I have an ipod. I plan to get get an iloop so I can listen to it through my hearing aids.

2 01 2010
Steve

I love music too but I rarely listen to it these days. It just seems like hard work now. I’ve tried to get back into listening to it recently but I’ve found that I get a headache pretty quickly when listening to earphones and my aids keep switching to telephone mode too, which is very very annoying.

What headphones do you use? I’m thinking about getting the telephone mode switched off soon anyway, so that’ll help.

Just cause I feel like linking to it, my fav. song ever: http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=tracks+of+my+tears+video&docid=1211652637145&FORM=VIRE3

Good luck with the CI op!

2 01 2010
Bluesky

From what Ive heard listening to music via a CI is very hard work. A natural ear contains something like 15 thousand hair cells..no way can a CI replicate this within it’s 20 odd electrodes..lol.

Speech along with environmental sounds is what the CI is primary designed to pick up on. As soon as you mix in musical instruments, tonal ranges etc..the CI gets lost in translation..lol.

The ones that get the most success from CIs are the born hearing I gather.

2 01 2010
Stacey

I think it’s GREAT that you love music. My boyfriend is deaf yet he plays bass guitar in a band. He listens to music… plays it, and reads lyrics to understand the music, too. I think he said he is a candidate for CI but is not keen on the side effects; HEADACHES…

2 01 2010
funnyoldlife

@Liz. Have you tried direct audio input shoes and leads? They will give you louder, clearer sound and cut out all background noise, you might have to ask your audio to set your hearing aids to work with them – it’s basically flicking a switch somewhere on the aid. You can get them from Connevans http://tinyurl.com/yzwxjc8 – make sure you get the correct shoes for your aids and that they can cut out background noise – not all do. Contact Connevans if you need advice, they are brilliant, so helpful.

@Steve. There’s a lot going on in that piece of music, nice melody but too many voices for me, it’s coming through all blurry! Are your aids switching to T by themselves? How odd. I don’t use headphones, I use direct input leads, link above. I will probably have to flog my set though as mine are for a pair of aids – I’ll have to purchase a single one now! Anyone interested?

@Bluesky. You’re absolutely right. See my Cochlear Implant page, there is information there on music capabilities, hop over to Mike Marzalek’s site – Advanced Bionics are leading the way for CIs to work with music. At last! Have you read Michael Chorost’s book, Rebuilt? He worked on tweaking the CI so music would sound the same as when he was hearing – and managed to achieve it, with an AB CI. http://www.michaelchorost.com/about-rebuilt/

@Stacey. Deaf and playing in a band…? Whew! That’s fantastic. Must be so difficult though! On the headaches, I get a lot of stress headaches from hearing aids…. LOL…. it’s one of the reasons I’m getting a CI, so I won’t have to concentrate as hard!

2 01 2010
Jeremy Freeman

I know you sent me a private message on how we chose a particular CI for our son Eytan – I will respond to you shortly on that with the reasons of our choice. My memories are rather hazy, but I seem to remember that one of the CI was better for music than the other. I’ll send you a private message soon.

3 01 2010
Michael

My violin teacher many years ago told me I was tone deaf but that does not prevent me from enjoying music with my medel CI. The sound is better than with the hearing aid in the other ear. I am mainly listening to familiar music. My preferred way is to use an ear hook(“music links”) which communicates with the tcoil.

3 01 2010
funnyoldlife

@Jeremy. Thanks, looking forward to hearing from you.

@Michael. That’s very encouraging. Have you always been deaf or not? I am guessing the ear hook transmis via radio waves (correct me if I am wrong) – would a direct input not give a clearer signal?

I have been thinking about the direct input issue. When I was at school, I had a radio aid, and was able to eavesdrop on my teacher when she forgot to take the microphone off and went to the other side of the school! I have not been able to hear with a radio aid for 20 years and I read that it can be used with a CI. Does anyone use one? (anyone in the UK reading this, do you use one?) Is it only really useful in an educational context? I would just so love to have that effortless understanding again. It was so damn easy!

But, maybe ….. the hearing I *might* get from the CI would be good enough that I would not need a radio aid anyway ….. thoughts, anyone?

3 01 2010
Michael

My hearing was normal until about 12 years ago and then rapidly declined. Probably had no useful hearing in the implanted ear for about 10 years ( certainly greater than 100db loss in the 3 years before implantation). The ear hook works with magnetic fields same as the connection with a phone. I have an FM transmitter, with my hearing aids it just amplified the noise in difficult situations in quiet I coped without. With the CI I do not need to use it for normal communication but it is good for plugging into music, audiobooks or whatever, switching to telecoil only and ignoring everyone else.
My fears about the surgery were much the same as yours. I was not worried about my hair as I hadn’t thought about it and the things I read on the internet suggested there were no special instructions. My surgeon told me to keep the area dry for a week and suggested holding a plastic cup over the area and have someone else wash my hair during that week.
Stayed overnight after the surgery. Stayed another night before flying home, could have coped with the journey but was grateful to have some one with me. Slightly more ataxic/dizzy after, for a week or 2 otherwise uncomplicated. The thing that suprised me was the tiredness. For the first week I could only manage an hour of activity per day then I was exhausted. I went back to work at about 2 weeks. The tiredness come back with switch on, the rehabilitationist claimed it was all the work my brain was doing.
My medel has either 12 electrodes or 12 pairs of electrodes but it doesnt sound like that. I read somewhere (but dont understand) that the electronics give you some enormous number of virtual electrodes.
My CI is comfortable and i forget it is there, I always took my hearing aid out at every opportunity but leave the CI allday. It is less noticeable to other people as there is no ear mould. I guess if people behind me bother to look, they see a loop of wire as my hair is relatively short.

3 01 2010
funnyoldlife

@Michael. I hadn’t realised about the tiredness….thanks for that. I remember now that Ulf mentioned something about that. It”s great that you’re happy with yours. *High five!*

3 01 2012
www.spectrum-mm.com

Hey there’s a plugin for winamp that fetches the lyrics for the song you are listening to from an internet database. It displays it on screen and saves it onto your hard drive.

Leave a Reply

