Phone call #4

14 08 2010

Photobucket

I phoned Michéle and asked her to name objects on my desk. Ooops! I mean HER desk – she’s not telepathic (yet). After the call, she said;

Ohh Tina you made me laugh it was soooo funny because you remind me of me when I first started listening on the telephone!

Things on my desk:

1.       On my desk is a stapler it is blue.

2.       On my desk is a coffee mug it is coloured white.

3.       On my desk is my iphone it is black

4.       On my desk is my lunch box it is pink.

5.       On my desk is my hard hat it is white.

You got only two words wrong and that was ‘coffee mug’ (you said calculator then second time I read out you said ‘coconut’ – how we both laughed!!!). It just shows that you are picking up the right sequence but they change ever so subtly.

Cal-cu-lator

Co-co-nut

See how similar they might be –  so that is pretty good going!!!

I then tried to change it to ’coffee cup’ so that the two c’s would make a more ‘hearable’ sound.

The last word you were stuck on was ‘hard hat’ (construction industry) I did say that this was going to be hard, I was going to say ‘ measuring tape’ –which I am sure that you would have got,  but because it is not an everyday word we use, ‘ hard hat’ would have been something really hard to figure.

– I mean put it this way Tina you have never actually heard ‘hard hat’ over the telephone in your life before so you must not worry.  However in a couple of months time we might  phone (and have progressed from there), and I might say “oh I am wearing my hard hat” – you WILL know because now that has gone into your auditory memory.

Two words – not bad…. Huh??!!

* Tina dances excitedly around her desk and telepathically around Michéle’s *

Actions

Information

6 responses

15 08 2010
Andy

That’s amazing! Those words ARE similar and I’d point out that hearing people make mistakes on the phone all the time anyway.
Congratulations and hooj pats on the back!

Worth it then … was it?

15 08 2010
Funnyoldlife

Good point – I keep forgetting that hearing people sometimes have problems too. It was worth it 3 days after switch-on, when the beeps stopped! Hearing on the phone is the icing on the cake. Understanding all speech easily in all situations will be the fancy decorations and fireworks 🙂

15 08 2010
Paul

Tina, you’re “cracking the hard nut”! Fantastic! Yes, even the hearies miss parts of words and their brains fill in from memory for a best guess. Sometimes the best guess brings a smile to our lips as it is a best laugh when we realize it doesn’t fit. Reminds me of my comprehension test at 1-month: “The chocolate washed the dishes.”. Well, I was close anyways. HOO-RAH! Well done, Tina!

15 08 2010
Catherine Mellor

What a wonderful friend you have, Tina. I think I might try pressing some of mine into service! And that is a wonderful idea, to have a context to work with. Sounds I have real problems with are like tape, cape but I can do double, bubble. It’s fascinating work, and I can feel myself rising to the challenge! Bring it on, baby!

15 08 2010
Catherine Mellor

And for the prelingually deaf, learning the language is an intellectual feat. Along with trying to figure out the spoken word was the challenge of mastering idioms! I absolutely love watching Ziva boob it on NCIS. Makes me feel better!

16 08 2010
Speak Up Librarian

Hope this makes you feel better, Tina. My son was telling me about his day at the golf course and I heard “eighteenth hole” as “Bullwinkle”. The rhythm is right but the meaning not so much.
What a wonderful idea to practice on the phone this way.
Best wishes,
Sarah

Leave a Reply

