Phone call #6

25 08 2010

Photobucket

My stenographer today, Susie, is a posh Londoner and usually works for Lord Jack Ashley in the House of Commons.  He has a cochlear implant so Susie knows loads about them.

She speaks very clearly in a south London accent and at a fairly slow pace so I find it easier to understand her with my tinny CI hearing.

Aha! I thought. – I’ll get her to do some phone practice with me. (Can you imagine it, ME, a deaf person, picking up a mobile phone to CALL someone?!! Surreal stuff!) I went into the kitchen and dialled Susie who stayed in my office, sprawled across my comfy armchairs.

She answered her phone and told me who she was, and said she is looking forward to going abroad next week (she’s off to Italy, lucky bum) and she got wet in the rain on the way to my office. She’s wearing black trousers today and had her hair done at the hairdresser’s. (Diddums) She told me she loves my dog, he’s very friendly. (Yeah, Susie’s normal! – I don’t understand people who don’t like animals.) She told me she is looking at the brown filing cabinet in my office with all the travel books in the bookcase. (I’ve got about 20 books, she’d need her eyes tested if she didn’t notice those.) My phone started ringing and Susie said my phone is ringing, I said ‘Yes, I can hear it!’ and rang off. I danced into my office with a huge grin on my face. (I do a lot of dancing these days, don’t I?)

Sooooo ….. I heard and understood all of the above, except for the bit about my dog. I’m floored. A computer chip is allowing me to understand just about an ENTIRE phone conversation. This is the first time in my life I have had any kind of sensible conversation with a hearing person without reading their lips. Whooo!

I decided to push a little more. I asked Susie to do another phone call with me. But this time, I asked her to give me one word out of the sentence ‘She sells sea shells on the sea shore’. I was to tell her which word she said. She gave me Shells, She, Sells, Sells, Sea, The. I got all of the words correct except for the last one. She had pronounced ‘The’ like ‘Thee’ – totally unexpected, and very difficult without any context. This particular exercise was not easy at all. But I did it! I’m thrilled!

Hello again Cloud Nine. I think I’ll be staying for a little while.

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 08 2010
Michele

Woweee! Miracles happening all around us..! Isn’t it grand?? Can u throw me a lasso from up yonder your cloud??? Number nine I think it is… !

27 08 2010
Яashed

Wow, you’re doing great! Processor technology is going at breakneck speed, you’d be amazed at the things they can do in the near future. 🙂

Cloud nine, eh? Hitch a star to it and enjoy it all, sound is beautiful. 🙂

11 09 2010
Dr.V

Tina, that “She sells…” sentence is no fair. You are really pushing yourself to the brink! Way to go!!!
What you do in the first year pays off biggest, and you are sure going to be reaping HUGE dividends.
Frankly though I think its pretty neat you can just call Lord Somebody’s Steno to drop by and do some exercises with you…Some clout ! No wondert you’re up there on clouT 9.
Dr.V.

Leave a Reply

