Free audiobooks available this week

8 09 2010

Here’s an opportunity to add new training tools to your cochlear implant rehabilitation programme!

What’s the deal?

The Guardian is giving away free audiobooks online, every day this week. These usually cost around £15, but are totally free via this deal.

You don’t need to enter any payment details or sign up for a subscription, plus you get to keep them as long as you like once downloaded.

How to get them

Each day the url for the special page on Audible.co.uk – a big audiobooks website – will be printed in the Guardian newspaper. You’ll be able to download each audiobook for 7 days after the link originally appears.

To get the downloads, follow these steps:

  • Enter your email address and name
  • Follow the link to Audible
  • If you’re a new customer, you’ll need to register on the Audible site (this is free), or sign in if you’ve already registered. You only need to register once to get all 7 books
  • The download link for your book should then automatically appear.
  • Follow the onscreen instructions from Audible.

What can I get?

The links for each book are released each day.

Saturday 4 September: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Sunday 5: Armando Iannucci’s Charm Offensive

Monday 6: Matter by Iain M. Banks

Tuesday 7: Sir Charlie Stinky Socks and the Really Big Adventure by Kristina Stephenson

Wednesday 8: Down and Out in Paris and London by George Orwell

Thursday 9: Rapid French Volume 1 by Earworms

Friday 10: Yes Man by Danny Wallace

Uploading to a Kindle e-book reader

When you are asked which type of device you are listening on, ignore audible software wizard. Click the download button, save the file, and transfer to your kindle. To transfer, connect your kindle to a computer with the direct input cable. It should show as an external USB drive. Open your kindle and click on the folder which says ‘Audible’. Drag the audiobooks into this folder. On your computer, eject your kindle from the USB drive. Activate your Audible account. When you open an audio book from the home screen, your kindle will ask you for your audible username and password, authorising your device.

Uploading to a Kindle-compatible device

(iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Mac, Blackberry, Andriod, Windows PC)

Check out the LINK for free reading applications which synchronise across your devices using Whispersync technology. I love it!

Actions

Information

9 responses

9 09 2010
cyborginafield

Hey, I have downloaded some in preparation!
Question – do you listen to the audio books “plugged in” to your C.I or are you listening through the pc or stereo? My father in-law has the audio Harry Potter, so gonna nick that too.
I expect it will be harder if through pc or stereo as you will have all the other house sounds around you but maybe thats a good thing cause you have to focus harder?

9 09 2010
Funnyoldlife

I use the direct audio input lead to listen as it cuts out all background sounds and gives me the best quality sound – electrical to electrical – no loss of quality. You don’t want to make it harder by fudging the quality – you’ll have a hard enough job as it is!

Not forgetting, I read along with the book, too! Harry Potter is the one I started off with as Stephen Fry has a lovely clear voice.

9 09 2010
cyborginafield

Ok, its hard for me to imagine just how its gonna sound you know?
Any other advice for switch on or just after? I live in a wee village and its mostly environmental noise that I will be hearing first. Should I push myself to seek people out from the word go?
God Im kinda nervous but Im determined to stay calm and in control of my emotions. She says with a tear in her eye!!

Yeah a lot of you have done the Harry potter cause of Stephen Frys voice.Think I may start with that as I have read some of the books.

9 09 2010
Funnyoldlife

Hi Soozie, for starters just enjoy the ride! Try environmental sounds first – turn the tap on, listen to animals and yourself breathe, clocks ticking, rustle things, keep asking questions about sounds, get others to tell you what that sound was. Go for a walk and try to work out what sounds are, from movement or recognition. Voices, phone and music are much more complex. Turn on a radio, TV, iPod when you can – anything that generates sound. If it’s portable like an iPod, even better, you can listen on the move. Try to listen as much as you can each day. ANd yes, it’s okay to take breaks! It’s all great fun!

9 09 2010
cyborginafield

God that sounds like I dont talk to people, jeez!! My hubby will be about and Ive told just about everyone about my C.I in preparation for next week. So im gonna wander about and yak to all dog walkers 🙂

9 09 2010
Funnyoldlife

You’ll enjoy walks like never before. I am amazed at hearing my dog’s ball hit the ground in the distance, the crunch of leaves and the grass, my footsteps on the ground, my dog panting, dog walkers saying hello, the ball-thrower cutting through the air as I lob the ball …. it’s all so WONDERFUL. That’s a whole blog post for you coming up, isn’t it? 🙂

9 09 2010
cyborginafield

Thanks Tina, oh yeah I reckon I will be scribbling a lot after switch on!! 🙂

13 09 2010
anubhav kapoor

Totally free actually does sound a bit too good to be true. I am looking forward to testing the “environmental sounds” mentioned here by one of the contributors…will get back to you with a detailed and honest review as soon as I have exhausted every aspect of my copy.

22 11 2010
NPN Transistor

i love to listen on audiobooks while travelling on a bus, i could learn a lot from it while travelling .~*

Leave a Reply

