Raisins and bacon on my anniversary

2 03 2011

Photobucket

When I spoke to B on the phone today, this threw up a couple of interesting confusions. B  gave me a list of the ingredients in the carrot cake she made;

  • 175g light muscovado sugar
  • 175ml sunflower oil
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 140g grated carrots
  • 100g raisins
  • grated zest of 1 large orange
  • 175g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp grated nutmeg

I got them all right except for the words in red.

Instead of raisins, I kept getting bacon. In my head, I had this idea of 100g bacon and I just couldn’t get away from associating what I was hearing with the word bacon, even though I know bacon is never put into carrot cake, unless you’re a bit strange!  Raisins and bacon have a similar rhythm and the vowels are so similar, I have to really listen for the B in bacon.

Next! I kept getting egg instead of orange.  We laughed hard at grated zest of egg. Then of course, I wasn’t expecting nutmeg at all.

After the phone call, I got B to repeat random ingredients to me as I sat next to her, without lip reading. I didn’t get nutmeg the first time, but got it every time after that. Bacon and raisins was still a bit hard but I mostly got the right word.

I’m hungry after all that work! It’s time to celebrate my one year ear anniversary with some carrot cake (as B leaves the room saying Raisins-Bacon-Raisins). I can’t believe it’s been one year. I’ve found fabulous support within the CI community and have made some very dear friends. It’s wonderful to talk to people who know exactly what you’re talking about, what you’ve been through, and who are so positive about it all. A year ago, I didn’t believe for one second that a phone call would be possible, or that I would understand any speech without lip reading. I’m just completely floored.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 03 2011
Kieron (Joe)

That’s awesome, Tina! 🙂

3 03 2011
deaflinguist

And if you mix raisins and bacon you put them in basins, don’t you?! Well done Tina! One year down out of that “typical” 2-year learning curve they keep talking about.

Raisins and oranges are difficult words as they aren’t just vowel-dominant, the middle of the word also disappears – “is” and “ang” respectively. I think it’s one of the challenges to hear a word holistically – beginning, middle and end. At least none of it involved “scissors”!

Leave a Reply

