Sonova and Advanced Bionics …. it’s “mini-me” time!

5 11 2011

Advanced Bionics cochlear implant components are quietly getting smaller with improvements. I took a photo of my older implant’s magnet (blue cap) alongside my newer implant’s magnet (purple cap).  The magnet is smaller as you can see on the right, it’s about half the thickness of the older magnet.

The internal face of the new magnet is also different. It has a slightly protruding magnet and a padded ring which is very comfortable.

Actions

Information

26 responses

5 11 2011
Catherine

Mine looks like the old one. I would imagine the new one to be very much more comfortable. Can you lie with the new one under your head? It is uncomfortable for me with the old one.

6 11 2011
Tina

No difference there Catherine, it still feels like lying on a lump! 🙂

5 11 2011
Rawan

Nice 🙂 They should be smaller .. I think.

5 11 2011
Rich Harder

Did you replace the old one and they sent the newer version, or did you compare to someone else’s?

6 11 2011
Tina

The one on the left came with the CI I got in February 2010, and I received the smaller one 2 months ago with my new 2nd CI.

6 11 2011
Jennifer Thorpe

Now that’s cool. I haven’t seen that yet!

6 11 2011
Geoff Turner

Interesting, Tina. My C1 Harmony’s headpiece from Jan 2011 looks exactly like the new one but the headpieces that came with my new Harmonies look like the old one.

6 11 2011
Robert MacPherson

Did the new coil design incorporate any improvement in battery life?
MED-EL users with their new “D Coil” are reporting significantly longer hours of usage.
.http://www.medel.com/data/downloads/MAESTRO/22754.pdf

6 11 2011
Tina

My older battery lasts 12 hours and my newer battery will die before the older battery – I put this down to the mapping but can’t be sure.

7 11 2011
Deb

Tina,

The two headpieces are for different internal devices! The one on the right (the darker one) is for the CII internal device and the other one is a 90K internal device headpiece. The CII headpiece is flat and the 90K headpiece is more concaved in shape. I happen to have both of the headpieces and just compared them.

Deb

7 11 2011
Tina

Ergh! So either I have 2 different internal devices (how did that happen?!) or the NHS are skimping. Hmmm.

9 11 2011
Howard Samuels

Tina, you definitely don’t have a CII headpiece. I vaguely recall hearing that AB has a thinner headpiece for the Harmony. I think it is called the ‘Universal Headpiece.’ If you order a new headpiece now, that’s what you will get.

9 11 2011
Howard Samuels

Boy was I wrong! Deb nailed it by identifying the thinner one as being made for the CII. The implants are shaped somewhat differently, so they have different headpieces.

You have two HiRes 90k implants. The only mystery is how a CII headpiece found its way into your processor kit.

10 11 2011
Tom Hannon

Tina, my 4+ year old headpieces are just like the first one, so I’d say that the second one is a newer sleeker design.

8 11 2011
Robert MacPherson

Page 5 here may be of interest in this matter, Tina:
http://tinyurl.com/76wcnb5
Note the difference in cable lengths between Harmony headpieces for the HiRes 90K and CII implants

11 11 2011
Deb

The thinner CII headpiece can be used on the 90K side with no problem. I have swapped them back and forth and I do like the thinner one best!

13 11 2011
Tina

I’ve just spoken to my audiologist and I have been informed the thinner headpiece is actually a new headpiece from Advanced Bionics.

13 11 2011
Catherine

Hmmmmm, available everywhere but here, right? 🙂

13 11 2011
Robert MacPherson

That’s up to AB, Catherine. They got the FDA green flag for US distribution 12/14/2010: http://tinyurl.com/6r2gxwd

13 11 2011
Catherine

I thought I was just being amusing, but now I am wondering if anyone in the US is using the newer, slimmer headpiece?

13 11 2011
Robert MacPherson

AB did release a new headpiece last year (FDA approved 12/2010), the UHP (Universal HeadPiece), compatible with all AB processors, BWP and BTE. It is offered in the Neptune package.

23 11 2011
cyborginafield

Hi Tina, I have one of these and ended up with a sore underneath it within a few days, wasnt nice, whole head hurt. Went back to the old style. Think it was maybe the foam insert.
Oh and how did you manage to get the lovely colour caps for yer smarty? I really wanted one but didnt get any 😦 Have asked at centre but they say it £150 for 3 so wont be getting groovy coloured head gear, just plain grey. Hope your enjoying stereo 🙂
S x

24 11 2011
Tina

Hi Soozie, we get a pack of colour caps included in the AB kit box as standard. £150 for 3?! Why are you being charged on the NHS? Be careful with the sore head – try a weaker magnet maybe? I’ve seen the nasty side of having too strong magnet … ugh …. don’t google that!

4 12 2011
cyborginafield

Hey I didnt get coloured caps, I got a grey/black and grey one! I have asked repeatedly for a coloured one but they say they dont have any. they are £150(3 pack) so they aint going to order them in for me are they!!! I got the boring grey and back ones when I got all my AB gear but alas no funky colours 😦
Hey at least my C.I is working great so I will just have to stick a funky beer bottle top on it instead haha x

4 12 2011
Catherine

I don’t know if this link will work for you since you name your currency in pounds, but for 32 US dollars you can get these techno caps https://shop.bionicear.com/std/storefront/ProductDetail.asp?id=CI-7121-004&guid=33661724050

24 11 2011
Tina

I just got an email from my regular audiologist who has checked with Advanced Bionics on my headpieces, and she says –

The two headpieces that you have are different in shape. You’ll see on the inside of one of them is a little black rubber, and on the other there is none. That is because the one you have for the left ear is called a “concave” Auria headpiece and the one on the right is a HiRes90K headpiece. Not really a difference in the technology, but more to do with the shape and comfort.

The universal headpiece has not yet been released by AB.

Leave a Reply

